An outing to Cardiff

Right – I’d really like to get to grips with WordPress now. How do I put sound and pictures on a page? I’d like, for instance, to create a page about my trip to Cardiff this weekend, to stay with friends and go to the Wales v Ireland game. So first here is some audio of the Welsh anthem being sung at the Millennium stadium: Listen! Now I’d like to insert a picture. img_0057
Or maybe two:

Castell Coch

Castell Coch

Oh, that’s a bit big, let’s try a smaller one:

img_0067

Right, think I may have cracked that, though bulk uploading of images proved impossible – had to do it one by one. So maybe I’ll link to a Flickr Set. And perhaps I can now insert some video of that anthem scraped off YouTube to Vodpod and into here: Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Welsh Anthem“, posted with vodpod

Ok, think I’m getting to grips with this. Anyway – it was a brilliant 24 hours in Cardiff. Saw old friends, a rugby match of extraordinary drama (even though Wales lost), enjoyed a perfect little walk across the fields to Castell Coch and basked in the glorious sunshine that only South Wales can guarantee in March.

3 responses to “An outing to Cardiff

  1. Hey Rory – best bet firstly is use Flock as a browser, you can post stuff straight from the browser – especially good for video, YouTube and the like.

    Alternatively, if you work direct from the wordpress page, easiest way is to use the galleries feature (make sure you expand the little icon bar though – it’s not obvious, or easy to find).

  2. John Temperley

    Rory Re Twitter on WordPress. Go to your Dashboard then select Appearance | Widgets | RSS | Add the RSS URL from your Twiter public-facing page. HTH john

  3. Looks like you’re getting the hang of wordpress. I still prefer to host mine myself, as you then have much greater control over plugins and so on, and hosting isn’t terribly expensive.

Leave a comment